About AYSC

Dr. G.P. Sarkar – President, Ahiritola Youth Swimming Club.

Ahiritola Youth Swimming Club, A.Y.S.C., established in the year of 1885, is one of the pioneer Aquatic Sports organizers of the country. The club has promoted numerous water polo players and swimmers of National and international standing in the past and is synonymous with aquatic sports events in the country. The laurels the club has won in the sporting arena has furthered its contribution to society and it has a continual engagement in various philanthropic activities throughout the year. The Life Saving unit, that the club maintains as an auxiliary team of the Kolkata Police, renders voluntary services during the Puja immersions and has been instrumental in saving many lives, who would lost to the turbulent waters. The club also runs “Dr. Malati Allen Charitable Homoeo Clinic” a unit of “Dr. Malati Allen Charitable Trust” with an aim to provide effective treatment and cure for the masses, for the past few years.

It is since, 1975, that we have been anually organising “Allen’s All India 14 k.m. Long Distance Swimming Competition” along the river Hooghly, with the sole aim to promote swimmers of this event at an international pedestal. Eminent swimmers like Smt. Bula Chowdhury, Md. Masudur Rahman Baidya, Rashmi Sharma, Amrita Das, Mayur J. Mehta, Taranath Shenoy, to name a few have participated in this event several years prior to achieving their international laurels.

On the 23rd of December, 2012 we are organising, “Allen’s All India 14 k.m. Long Distance Swimming Competition” from Panihati Barro Mandir Ghat to Ahiritola ghat along the Hooghly river. The competition will commence from 12.30 hrs and is expected to finish by 16.00 hrs followed by the grand Prize Distribution ceremony.

Swimmers from around the country including Maharashtra, Delhi, Haryana,

The Hon’ble Sports Minister of West Bengal, Shri Madan Mitra, the Hon’ble Chairman of the Kolkata Municipal Corporation Shri Satchidananda Bannerjee, Hon’ble Dr. Sashi Panja, M.L.A. and the Hon’ble Chairman of the Milk Board, shri Tarak Bannerjee will grace the occasion and will remain present for the Prize distribution ceremony.

All are welcome to be a part of this event and support the participants in their endeavours.

Dr. G.P. Sarkar
President – A.Y.S.C